2017 Finalists Announced

Businesses from across the breadth of Powys from Ystradgynlais in the south to Llansantffraid in the north are represented in the county’s premier business awards. 

In a fiercely-contested competition, 30 businesses have been shortlisted for 10 different award categories in the 2017 Powys Business Awards.

Winners will be chosen following judges visits which will take place over the summer months, winners will be announced at an awards dinner to be held on Friday, October 6 at The Hafren in Newtown, with tickets for the event sold out within hours.

The finalists are as follows:

Start-up Business Award sponsored by The County Times

·         AL Technical, Newtown

·         Soccerholics R Us, Meifod, Welshpool

·         Turvec Solutions, Berriew

Outstanding Apprentice Award sponsored by FSB

·         Lucas Evans, Charcroft Electronics, Llanwrtyd Wells,

·         Matt Price, Compact Orbital Gears, Rhayader

·         Danny Foulkes, EvaBuild, Newtown

Entrepreneurship Award

·         Goodhand Glass House, Craig-y-Nos

·         Hayley Hanson Hide, Brecon

·         Nick Sanders Expedition Centre, Machynlleth

Growth Award sponsored by Finance Wales

·         Radnor Hills Mineral Water, Knighton

·         Station Couriers, Newtown

·         SWG Construction (Build & Renovate), Welshpool

Excellence in Quality Management Award sponsored by Myrick Training

·         Plant I, Machynlleth

·         Promotional Handling, Welshpool

·         Trax JH, Newtown

International Trade Award sponsored by Lanyon Bowdler Solicitors

·         Motif Creative, Newtown

·         Newmor, Welshpool

·         Trax JH, Newtown

Small Business (Under 30 Employees) Award sponsored by NPTC Group

·         EvaBuild, Newtown

·         McCartneys LLP, Welshpool

·         Northern Industrial Battery Services, Four Crosses

Social Enterprise/ Charity Award sponsored by Mid Wales Housing Association Ltd

·         Calan Domestic Violence Services, Brecon

·         Powys Dance, Llandrindod Wells

·         Robert Owen Community Banking Fund, Newtown

Excellence in Environmental Management Award sponsored by Griffiths

·         Camp Cynrig Glamping Village, Brecon

·         Gregynog Hall, Tregynon

·         Llangoed Hall, Brecon

Micro Business (Under 10 Employees) Award sponsored by The Cambrian News & Brecon & Radnor Express

·         Bryn Tanat Hall, Llansantffraid

·         Classy Curtains, Ystradgynlais

·         Varleys of Newtown, Newtown

In addition to the above awards, the Judging Panel have a discretionary award called the Judges Award which is made each year to recognise some outstanding achievement or person that has come to the judge’s attention during their visits and which the strict criteria for the other awards does not recognise sponsored by Mid Wales Manufacturing Group

Secondly from the category winners the overall award for Powys Business Awards, the Business of the Year, is sponsored by Powys County Council.

The awards celebrate excellence in business in the county and brings recognition in the local and regional business communities.